Going beyond Nouveau WoW

If this title doesnt make sense to you, look up the usage of ‘Nouveau riche’.  Wikipedia has a decent article.

Soon it’ll be 7 years of wowing.  I don’t know about anybody else, but other than ‘staying alive’, there isn’t anything I’ve done consistently for as long as I’ve played wow.  What i find interesting is the change of ‘style’ of WoWing over time.

When WoW was new, I spent a lot of time playing.  I was also completely dedicated to my main class.   I had no max level alt, or even medium level.   At the end of vanilla, my highest alt was probably in the 20’s.  maybe 30’s.  I was basically unaware of WoW news and general media on the internet.  Reading the internet meant i wasn’t playing wow.  Obviously a waste of my time.  (we’re also talking about a time when warlocks didn’t dot in raids because they were all pushed off due to debuff limits….  interesting times.)

Once BC was well established, and i started actually having more characters to play on, i looked more into WoW-outside-of-WoW.  I started researching my class.  I inspected blue posts.  found out about potential changes incoming, and general theories on how things could be improved.

By the time Wrath hit, i was regularly visiting wow sites, looking up everything possible, and aware of every blue word within minutes of them existing.

This continues into even farther extremes today.  I read about, and involve myself into wow-based media more than i actually play the game.  This is not to say i don’t play much,  but there’s less demand of my time in wow due to the state of my guild, class, etc.  Even as i type this, i just opened a tab to Gamebreaker in preparation for their WoWcast “Legendary”.

Some places i visit regularely, like MMO-C for general wow news and its blue tracker.  Other places i visit as they put out posts, like WoMatticus, or Big Crits.  There are plenty of other sites i visit as well, please don’t think i’m trying to single anyone out 😛  If  I listed every wow site i visited……  there would be a long list.

I’d like to think I’ve grown as a player over these years.   I certainly play for different reasons now.  It used to be ‘the new thing’.  I used to play wow just for the entertainment and addiction value.   I needed my fix.   These days, I love the content,  The people, the raiding,  the whole social experience.

And hey, the purples are still nice.  They just happen to be icing on the cake.

Leave a Reply

