The wave used to be done in stadiums….

All this hype on google wave!  I wish i could actually motivate myself to devote the hour+ to watch the video.  Luckily, my fiancee has watched some of it and given me some summaries.   While it sounds flexible, and pretty crazy interesting…  its probably something i’ll just have to use myself to get a good idea over.

Just as back in the day when i was offered a gmail invite and i thought “I dont know, i already have an email address….”, wave could end up the same deal.  I dont know where i’d be without my gmail.   My original email vs. gmail is like B&W vs Color TV.  Or maybe closer to B&W to BluRay.

But, there’s not much i can do about it at the moment.  I’ve lost touch with old friends, especially ones who would have google invites.  There may be eventual hope in some other people, but nothing major.   I did make a post on ‘WoW on Wave’ thanks to #Ithato.  How that’ll end up I’m not sure.  But it’s nice to see a list of wowers on there.  Even the coveted Tekkub (/swoon).

Not much else i can write about something Iv]sfda;lfjdsghad;.

I dont like typing on this laptop >.>

Anyway… something i’ve had no personal experience.

 

All this being said.  I wonder how lightweight ChromeOS will be.  This laptop has issues running XP, so i’m wondering if it’ll be able to handle Chrome…   Issues for future times i guess.

2 Responses to “The wave used to be done in stadiums….”

  1. Having watched the whole, excruciatingly long introductory video on Google Wave, I’d say it’s worth it, especially if you have the slightest inclination towards being a computer nerd, like myself. I’m a sysadmin and programmer by day.

    Having actually used Wave a good deal in the last few weeks, I’ll say that IN ITS CURRENT IMPLEMENTATION it is not quite revolutionary, but definitely cool and useful. It needs some improvements in performance on waves with many blips and/or many users, and it’s in dire need of some better permissions and moderation systems.

    I’ve used it with a group of WoW bloggers to discuss a potential new project, and a separate wave with the same group to discuss patch 3.3 as it pertains to healers. I also used it with a group of friends IRL to discuss the latest Wheel of Time novel, The Gathering Storm, and the series in general. Those are but a few examples.

    All in all, I use it like a strange orgy-love-child of IM, e-mail, wikis and forums, that feels a helluva lot more dynamic during active conversations.

    Now if it would just let me keep @_erica in my contacts…

    • Gaoul Says:

      Well thanks for the information 🙂 I’ll definately take the time to see the video myself then. I’m not a professional computer nerd, but in school aiming at that goal 😛

      I have seen some twitter comments with people less than happy over stability and other issues of wave.

      Still sounds interesting, and i’m keeping my hopes up for an eventual invite.

      Good luck with your contact list 😉

Leave a Reply

